API Key and JWT Authentication

Hi,

I have been reading through all of the ServiceStack documentation around API Key and JWT authentication.

As I am primarily a backend developer, I am struggling a bit with it.

Are there any examples / tutorials that make the task of converting our existing services that just use basic authentication to API Key / JWT authentication.

Many thanks in advance.

Simon

Note API Key and JWT are 2 different types of authentication methods so the first step is to workout what you want to move to and why?

You shouldn’t have to convert any existing Services implementations, i.e. each Auth Provider still uses the [Authenticate] attribute to authenticate Services and each Auth Provider still populates the Users Session.

The change would be how your clients authenticates, the C#/.NET Service Clients have support for both sending API Keys and sending JWT Tokens.

I guess I’m trying to figure out which part you’re having trouble with? Do you have specific code you’re using now that you want to change?

As I understood, the server side of the API all it needs is the new provider assign:

Plugins.Add(new AuthFeature(...,
    new IAuthProvider[] {
        new JwtAuthProvider(AppSettings) { AuthKey = AesUtils.CreateKey() },
        new CredentialsAuthProvider(AppSettings),
        //...
    }));

and on every client we need to append the token as

var authClient = JsonServiceClient(centralAuthBaseUrl) {
    Credentials = new NetworkCredential(apiKey, "")
};

or

var client = new JsonServiceClient(baseUrl);
client.OnAuthenticationRequired = () => {
    client.BearerToken = authClient.Send(new Authenticate()).BearerToken;
};

this alone will transform a SS API username/password authentication to JWT authentication, right?

1 Like

Yeah you’ll always need to register the AuthProviders you want to enabled. To enable API Keys you’ll need to register ApiKeyAuthProvider.

Then for Authenticating with an API key you can use either option: