Asp.Net Core Identity Auth - Basic query

Hello,

As per the recent servicestack release notes and the updated docs Asp.Net Core Identity Auth will be recommended apprach to implement security in ServiceStack.

In my API project I am currently using ServiceStatck’s Authentication And Authorization mechanism to secure my APIs.

I am new to Asp.Net Core Identity Auth, never used it, never learned it. Considering this I have couple of questions appreciate your kind response.

Q1: Shall I consider that in future versions (slowly and gradually) you will fully decommission ServiceStack’s Authentication and Authorization feature and will only and only use Asp.Net Core Identity Auth or can I use the same in .NET 8 based projects.

Q2: Actually, in my .NET 8 based API only project I want to use Asp.Net Core Identity Auth and want to achieve the same functionality and ease which is provided by ServiceStatck’s built in Authentication and Authorization such as in my .NET 6 based API only project I am using these security settings.

appHost.Plugins.Add(new AuthFeature(() => new CustomUserSession(),
      new IAuthProvider[] {
         new BasicAuthProvider(appSettings), 
          new JwtAuthProvider(appSettings)
         {
              AuthKeyBase64=appSettings.GetString("jwt.AuthKeyBase64"),
             UseTokenCookie=false,
             RequireSecureConnection=false,
             ExpireTokensIn=TimeSpan.FromDays(365),
             ExpireRefreshTokensIn=TimeSpan.FromDays(400),
         }
      }));

With the above settings I am able to do the following

1. Register the user using Register API
  2. Assign Roles/UnAssignRole
  3. Secure the Services

Is there any good example or sample project where I can see how you are using Asp.Net Core Identity Auth in servicestack?

Thanks

ServiceStack Auth will continue to be supported, but new projects will be configured to use ASP .NET Identity Auth by default.