Bruce Hunter - 474 - Mar 5, 2014

I call this line of IoC in the Service Interface  object Any(Request) method.

//IOC injection at the request level. This will inject a new instance for ATICore database for each request based on Session.
                HostContext.Container.Register<IAtiCoreDbConnectionFactory>(c => new AtiCoreDbConnectionFactory(this.GetATIUserConnectionByAlias(ServiceSettings.ControllerConnectionAliasATICoreCached).ConnectionString)).ReusedWithin(ReuseScope.Request);

I am later doing the following in my repository.

var a = HostContext.Container.TryResolve<IAtiCoreDbConnectionFactory>() as AtiCoreDbConnectionFactory;

This Interface just has 1 property ConnectionString that use to create a 

new SqlConnection(a.ConnectionString)

I’m finding that I have a concurrency issue and the Request level IoC is not working correctly. Not sure what I’m doing wrong, I’m new to IoC.

Our database connection is dynamic each time for each different user. I create a CustomSession object where I store the logged in users connection strings, that I get later and inject for each request Any() call.

Note: you shouldn’t be registering dependencies in the IOC outside of Configre(), which should be immutable thereafter.

Also why aren’t you declaring it to be injected in your repository with a public property?, e.g:

IAtiCoreDbConnectionFactory AtiCoreDbFactory { get; set; }

Typically your Factory dependencies should be singletons and then what you get back from them is a non thread-safe instance, e.g:

using (var userDb = AtiCoreDbFactory.Open(UserConnectionString)) {
  //something with userDb
}

Bruce Hunter:

Really, the word use of “Factory” for this should be removed. It’s an Interface that specifies a specific type of Database with a simple property to be created ConnectionString.

nTier type project setup
WebServiceApplication (Project) -> ServiceInterface (Project) -> Engine (Project) -> Repository (Project).