Implement IManageRoles on the RedisAuthRepository

Are there any plans to implement IManageRoles for RedisAuthRepository? If not, would it be difficult to make an implementation myself, given the fact that I am using ServiceStack only for a few months? If it is not too difficult I could try and make it available if this is of any interest and someone would support me, if I have questions.

I have my entire user management for several services moved from SQL Server to Redis and it would help me a lot… However I am quite new to ServiceStack and therefore not so familiar with the ServiceStack code… I am coding 20+ years but was mainly doing C/C++, Java, SQL on many different servers, MiddleWare and other ‘legacy’ stuff. Now doing C# and NoSQL…

RedisAuthRepository already implements IManageApiKeys

Hmm, I was looking for IManageRoles and NOT IManageApiKeys. And if I look at the right spot, this is only implemented by OrmLiteAuthRepositoryBase.

I found that hint in old Release Notes, but when looking at the source on GitHub I could not see, that it is implemented on Redis (maybe I am blind…)

Apologies I read that wrong, Redis shouldn’t need to implement IManageRoles because the User Roles are blobbed with the UserAuth POCO, OrmLite uses it because they include an option to maintain the User Roles in distinct tables.

What’s the reason for wanting RedisAuthRepository to implement IManageRoles?

No problem! I am not happy with the current implementation because I cannot pack all information I need into a single string field, I need a complex object. Here is what I would need:

public interface IRole
{
    string Name { get; set; }
    string Description { get; set; }
    string ApplicationId { get; set; }  //could also be a int, Guid, but string is more universal
    RoleType Type { get; set; }
}

public enum RoleType
{
    SystemRole,
    StandardRole,
    ApplicationRole,
    // maybe others.....
}

public class Role : IRole
{
    public string Name { get; set; }