Large project structure advice

I’ve been using ServiceStack for almost 6 years. The reason I first signed up was because I struggled with project architecture. I found it hard to make decisions as sometimes due to my lack of knowledge they would later come back to bite me.

ServiceStack gave me a simple approach. I write services grouped in relevant folders. If any service gets too big I split some logic off into another service.

This has worked remarkably well and kept things simple and productive. However, as you can imagine, after 6 years of coding some of my projects have gotten very large and flaws in my approach become evident.

When I open up a project with close to 100 services that I haven’t opened in a while it can be difficult to re-acquaint myself with the code and it’s happened more often that I’d like to admit where I end up coding something that already exists.

I’ve been doing a bit of reading to try to figure out where I am going wrong and I see it recommended to put my business logic on the model. This makes sense. This logic currently exists inside services so I am losing track of it but if it was attached to the model it would be easier to find.

I kind of feel like I am back to the point where I picked up SS in the first place. I look at various different DDD template examples and I can’t really figure out what that looks like applied to my SS project.

If I start moving logic to the model I also end up having to add dependencies to the model layer so I feel like it needs some greater overall restructuring.

When I got started I looked at the techstack.io project and just followed it’s pattern and for all the smaller projects I have done it’s been great but for the couple of really large projects I have made I need to learn some alternative pattern.

Is there any large SS project I can look at to see how it is structured?