Problem with uploading files from TypeScript

Hello,

Just in case, I am still quite new to ServiceStack.

I am working on a form with file upload and for some reason the sent files do not appear in the Request.Files in our webservice.

In the frontent we’re using SvelteKit and TypeScript. I am trying to send the form as FormData, following the guidelines from the documentation: Managed Files Uploads

First of all, I noticed that the files never get to the webservice - Request.Files always shows 0.
I found out that FormData with files should be sent as ‘multipart/form-data’ content type. However, inspecting the Request shows ‘application/json’ instead. The payload in the browser’s dev tools shows that the request has the ‘multipart/form-data’ content type, which makes me believe that everything on the frontend side should be correct. We even tried to set the default content type to ‘MultiPartFormData’ in our webservice, but the result is still the same - no files received and a different content type.

I have no idea where the problem is and what I am missing/misunderstanding. Can you please help me with this problem?

This is the issue, the request needs to be made with the ‘multipart/form-data’ content type, which is what browsers send natively in HTML forms using:

<form method="post" enctype="multipart/form-data">
    <input type="file" />
</form>

To upload files with JavaScript you would use fetch with FormData as seen in Mozilla’s Uploading Files docs.

If using the TypeScript JsonServiceClient you would send it with apiForm as documented in Uploading Files from JS/TypeScript docs.

const client = JsonApiClient.create(BaseUrl)
const formData = new FormData(document.forms[0]) // HTML Form Element
const api = await client.apiForm(new MyRequest(), formData)

Hello,

Than you for answering!