Redis Exception: Exceeded timeout of 00:00:03

We have been experiencing intermittent exceptions using Azure Redis as our ICacheClient.

Frequently, we receive the following exception from our service for methods that cache responses in the ICacheClient:

Internal Server Error: 500 - Internal Server Error: Exceeded timeout of 00:00:03

Needless to say the responses are not cached in Redis when we get this exception.
This problem then goes away a short time later, and the service then caches and returns the correct responses. We don’t get a whole lot of help from trace logs.

Does anyone have any pointers on what the problem could be related to?

We are using the C1 1GB basic tier in Azure, and our site does not have significant traffic at present.
We are registering redis as our ICacheClient as follows:

container.Register<IRedisClientsManager>(new PooledRedisClientManager("<ourkeyinazure>@ourinstance.redis.cache.windows.net?ssl=true"));

Honestly, have to say I am no redis expert, just expected it to work in our very basic scenario with low traffic volumes.

Here is an idea of the diagnostics we get from Azure on Redis at the timeframe its failing.

Is this the timeout I am hitting? (RedisConfig.DefaultRetryTimeout)

Yes when it encounters an error it will automatically retry the command for a default of 3 seconds before throwing a Timeout. There are continuous underlying errors that’s causing it to retry and ultimately throw a Timeout, you can try disabling the Timeout to see if it sheds light on what the underlying error is:

RedisConfig.DefaultRetryTimeout = 0;

Can you show me how to configure this RedisConfig.DefaultRetryTimeout on our registration of PooledRedisClientManager, as part of the connection string AND in code

container.Register<IRedisClientsManager>(new PooledRedisClientManager("<ourkeyinazure>@ourinstance.redis.cache.windows.net?ssl=true"));

It’s not modifiable from a connection string, only from the static RedisConfig.